Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 13 WTCC WORLD CHAMPION

The touring car racing, so-called stock car racing, is a beloved motorsport road racing by a wide range of fans at all times. Base on commercial-use model, the similarity of the cars both to each other and to fans’ own vehicles made the racing entertaining and well-supported. In addition, the competition was made more attractive because the success on the circuit was easy to lead to sales of commercial-use cars, so that automakers put a lot of effort into it. The Group A regulation touring car racing between 1980s to 1990s in Japan also had great success. While the Group A touring car racing came to an end, it was the WTCC (World Touring Car Championship) that started in 2005 took over as a category of global touring cars racing.

     The touring car racing with new regulation called Super Touring required 2-litre cars with more than 4 doors as basic. Manufacturers from all over the world started to participate in the race, and Chevrolet in the United States, mainly Chevrolet Europe, is one of them. The machine was chosen for the Chevrolet Cruise, which was unveiled at the 2008 Paris Motor Show. It was powered by a 1.6-liter turbo engine specified in the regulation change with a four-door sedan body. The RLM Group in the UK, which specializes in developing race machines and engines, participated in the development of the Chevrolet Cruise. The excellent performance led Chevrolet to win both the driver’s and manufacturer’s titles from 2010 to 2012.

     With that result, Chevrolet ended its participation as a works team in 2012. The RLM Group continued to participate as a private team to WTCC. Surely the machine is Chevrolet Cruise. The drivers were Yvan Muller, who were crowned champion in the previous year, and Tom Chilton. Muller is from France and active mainly in touring car races such as BTCC and WTCC. Muller won the 2010 and 2011 WTCC driver champion and was highly evaluated. In 2013, Muller run Chevrolet Cruze and successfully won the driver’s title for his fourth title, the most in WTCC.