Endurance racing, such as the 24 Hours of Le Mans as a representative, is one of the most popular sports in Europe. The Nürburgring Langstrecken Serie (NLS) is set at the Nurburgring Circuit in Germany, with various historic endurance races being held in various locations. With a long history and tradition since 1977, the NLS is one of the largest motorsport series in the world. The 3.5 to 6-hour race takes place around 10 races a year to compete for the season champion. With about 170 cars taking part in each race, and in recent years, a wide variety of cars, including commercial racing models, GT3 cars, and commercially available touring car-based cars, have fought in a  dead heat in each class.The NLS has become a popular event that attracts a lot of fans.

One of the teams that continues to participate in the NLS is Walkenhorst Motorsport. The team led by Henry Walkenhorst, who runs BMW dealerships, is known as a BMW leading customer racing team. With the aim of promotion and improvement of the company’s technology, Walkenhorst Motorsport started the racing activities from an early age. Main in endurance racing, Walkenhorst Motorsport has won many races and possesses professional high-level ability. In 2016, BMW launched the M6 GT3, a commercial racing machine equipped with a 4.4 liter V8 engine with TwinPower Turbo technology, in accordance with the GT3 category regulations, and has shown its great presence.

The Walkenhorst Motorsport participated in the 2020 NLS in a full season. Due to the coronavirus pandemic, the racing schedule was rescheduled, and the team was forced to steer out of this difficult situation. During this situation, the Adenauer ADAC Rundstrecken-Trophy 4-hour race was kicked off in June. The BMW M6 GT3 of Walkenhorst Motorsport with car number 34, was driven by David Pittard(UK) and Mikkel Jensen(Denmark). Held in good weather, the Team Walkenhorst Mortorsport won the championship by winning a fierce dead heat against rival teams in this 4-hour race. The team was also supported by familiar manufacturers in Japan. The Walkenhorst Motorsport won under different circumstances than in the usual years and  successfully  proved the team’s high performance.